The Centre of Excellence in Atmospheric Science has ended – the pages are not updated since January 2020.
EddyCovariance mm

Sergej Zilitinkevich has been named as the winner of the prestigious International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize for his outstanding contribution to meteorology and climatology and scientific research. Mr Zilitinkevich was cited for his “ground-breaking inventions in the physics of turbulence and atmospheric boundary layers, which principally advanced our knowledge of the Earth system, endorsed progress in weather and air-quality prediction, and gave rise to novel climate services.” The IMO Prize is the most important award in meteorology. It honours individuals for their outstanding contributions to the field of meteorology, hydrology, climatology or related fields. Established in 1955, it is named after the predecessor of the World Meteorological Organization, the International Meteorological Organization (IMO). Read more here.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.