XI International workshop on sap flow




The organisation team of the XI International workshop on sap flow wishes to warmly thank all the participants of the workshop for their contribution, Hyytiälä staff for taking care of us, and the sponsors for making the workshop possible! 

Thank you and see you soon again in 2021!


Welcome to the XI International workshop on sap flow at the Hyytiälä forestry station in southern Finland, from 7th to 11th of October, 2019.

The workshop covers topics concerning plant water relations and their measurement and is centred on plant water transport. Understanding plant water relations is crucial to understanding e.g. plant and tree productivity, agricultural plant and forest management and practices, and the global biogeochemical.

Note: due to the accommodation capacity of the field station, the number of participant is limited and the participants are accepted in the order of registration.


The forestry field station of Hyytiälä in the middle of autumnal boreal forest creates a comfortable setting for the scientific programme and easy possibilities for social events. The proximity to SMEAR II measurement stations allows for visiting the multiple relevant measurements, as well as an excursion to nearby peatland study site Siikaneva.


Keynote speakers 2019:

Dr. Antonio Diaz-Espejo, Spanish National Research Counsil CSIC, Spain

Dr. Rafael Poyatos, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, CREAF, Spain

Prof. Kathy Steppe, Ghent University, Belgium

Dr. Sandra Bucci, National University of Patagonia, Argentina

Prof. Jeaninne Cavender-Bares, University of Minnesota, USA

Workshop program:

Scientific committee:

Rafael Poyatos, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, CREAF, Spain

Antonio Diaz-Espejo, Spanish National Research Counsil CSIC, Spain

Kathy Steppe, Ghent University, Belgium

Teemu Hölttä, University of Helsinki, Finland

Timo Vesala, University of Helsinki, Finland

Yann Salmon, University of Helsinki, Finland

Shabtai (Shep) Cohen, Agricultural Research Organization, Volcani Center, Israel

Loise Comas, USDA-ARS, Ft. Collins, CO, USA

Rafael Oliviera, State University of Campinas, Brazil

H. Jochen Schenk, California State University, Fullerton, USA

Priit Kupper, University of Tartu, Estonia

Steven Jansen, Ulm University, Germany

Jordi Martínez-Vilalta, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain

Anna Lintunen, University of Helsinki, Finland

Mike Clearwater, Univeristy of Waikato, New Zealand


In collaboration with:


Gold sponsor


Silver sponsor

Bronze sponsors



Passive partner